Play by Sephora Review for March 2019

This post may contain affiliate links. Read the review policy here | Read the disclaimer here.

In this post, I am going to share with you my Play by Sephora Review for March 2019. Play! by Sephora is a monthly beauty subscription that features a variety of high-end makeup that you can find at Sephora. It costs $10 per month and includes 6 sample sizes of makeup, hair care, or skincare items.

I’ve had this subscription for a few months now, so if you’re interested in learning more about this monthly beauty subscription, I suggest you read the February 2019, January 2019 or December 2018 posts.

About Play! by Sephora

PRICE

$10 per month

CONTENTS

6 trial size beauty samples

VALUE

They claim to have a value of $65, which I don’t agree with

FREQUENCY

Monthly

LEARN MORE

Sephora Play Unboxing

As you can see in the video above, I love to share my subscription unboxing and swatches with you. If you’re into that sorta thing, go follow @tryallthestuff on Instagram.

Play by Sephora Review for March 2019

From what I understand, this subscription used to include a makeup bag. I guess what is included now can technically be used as a makeup bag, but I don’t know if I would ever use it as one. I will admit though, I like them and save them, but I have no idea where or how I’d use them.

Let’s get on with the Play by Sephora Review for March 2019. Here’s what was included:

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation in Y415

Full Size Price: $43
Full Size Amount: 30 ml

From the brand:

  • Allure 2017 Reader’s Choice Award Winner
  • Buildable, natural finish

My thoughts:

I’ve reviewed this foundation before. However, this one was a closer match, although not exact.

Where to buy

Sephora Collection LashCraft Big Volume Mascara

Full Size Price: $14
Full Size Amount: 0.44 oz / 12.5 g

From the brand:

  • Volumizing mascara
  • Curved brush
  • Not tested on animals

My thoughts:

I say this in almost all of my Sephora Play reviews, but I think they really miss the mark in giving small samples of their own products. I feel like they should at least include larger samples of their own products.

Maybe it’s just me? What do you think? Let me know in the comments below.

Where to buy

First Aid Beauty Facial Radiance Pads

Full Size Price: $32
Full Size Amount: 60 Pads

From the brand:

  • A daily exfoliating pad to tone and brighten all skin types
  • Free from alcohol, artificial colors, artificial fragrance, lanolin, mineral oil, parabens, petrolatum, phthalates, propylene glycol, sulfates, talc, formaldehydes, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinonem, triclocarbon, ethanol, ethyl alcohol, denatured alcohol, methanol, N-butyl alcohol, isopropyl alcohol, SD alcohol, gluten, nuts, soy, oil, and nano
  • Vegan

My thoughts:

I liked these wipes, but I won’t be purchasing them. I like using a bottle of toner instead of moistened cotton rounds that are a little rough on the skin.

Where to buy

IT Cosmetics Confidence in a Cleanser Skin-Transforming Hydrating Cleansing Serum

Full Size Price: $28
Full Size Amount: 5 fl oz / 148 ml

From the brand:

  • Cleanser and serum in one
  • Sulfate-free and soap-free

My thoughts:

I like this cleanser a lot, especially when I use it with this IT Cosmetics moisturizer. The formula is thick and creamy.

Where to buy

Amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo

Full Size Price: $25
Full Size Amount: 5.3 oz / 232 ml

From the brand:

  • Dry shampoo that absorbs oil and refreshes hair with a natural rice starch
  • No white residue
  • Safe for keratin-, Brazilian-, or color-treated hair
  • Vegan certified and cruelty-free
  • No sulfates, parabens, phthalates, gluten, oil, mineral oil, sodium chloride, petrochemicals and artificial colors

My thoughts:

This dry shampoo performed exactly like it should. I liked using it.

Where to buy

Yves Saint Laurent Black Opium

Full Size Price: $72
Full Size Amount: 1 oz / 30 ml

From the brand:

  • Women’s fragrance with floral, coffee, white flowers and vanilla notes

My thoughts:

Fragrance preferences are subjective from person-to-person. This one is way too strong for me. I prefer light and clean floral scents.

Where to buy

Is the Play by Sephora Subscription Worth The Money?

Honestly, that’s for you to decide. There are other monthly beauty subscriptions, that I think have a higher value. However, beauty product preferences vary from person-to-person. If you don’t use high-end makeup or beauty products, you should definitely pass and subscribe to something like Ipsy (referral link) or even the Walmart Beauty Box.

On the other hand, if you almost exclusively purchase higher-end makeup from Sephora or department stores, you probably would enjoy this subscription.

Either way, you should check out the December 2018, January 2019 and February 2019 bags to get a better idea of the types of items they include.

I would love to know what you think about this Play! by Sephora Review for March 2019, so be sure to let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.