Play by Sephora Review | January 2019

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019

In this post, I’ll share my Play by Sephora review for January 2019. I’ll also share a detailed description of the items included so you can figure out whether or not this monthly beauty subscription is right for you.

I paid for this subscription with my own money. This is not a sponsored post. I’ve had the Sephora Play subscription for 4 months now (I’m writing this review really late), so be sure to check out those reviews as well.

About Play! by Sephora

Description:

Every month, Sephora will send you 5 trial-sized beauty products plus a bonus 6th item.

Price

$10 per month

Value

$65+

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

U.S. Only

Find out more:

January 2019 Play! by Sephora Unboxing

As you’ll see in the video above, I give you a closer look at the included products as well as swatches of the colors. If you haven’t already, be sure to follow me on Instagram, where I share more unboxing videos like this but also sneak peaks into other subscription boxes as well. 

What's included in the January 2019 Play by Sephora subscription?

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019
Play by Sephora Review, January 2019

To be quite honest, I really like this zip top bag that is included every month. Sure, it is cheaper than a normal makeup bag, but how many small makeup bags do I really need? I haven’t found a use for them yet, but I would guess these are great for traveling or to take to the beach. These bags store flat which is nice.

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019
Play by Sephora Review, January 2019

Also included every month is this square poster with more information about each product. This is where they attach your 50 bonus Beauty Insider points card, too.

There is a different theme every month. Anyway, let’s get on with the Play by Sephora review. Here’s what was included this month:

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Glace
Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Glace

Bite Beauty Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Glace

High-pigment lip crayon that features a long-wearing matte finish.

  • Made in Canada
  • No parabens, phthalates, or sulfates.
  • Cruelty free and leaping bunny certified

Full size price: $24

My thoughts: I’ll just start by saying that I am not a fan of matte lip products, but I really do like this one. So far I’ve loved all of the Bite beauty products I’ve tried. I say this all the time, but the reason why I love subscription boxes so much is because I can discover brands and products that I love. Even though this color or finish may not be my first choice, I like it so much that I want to try more of their products.

Where to buy  (not an affiliate link)

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Laneige Water Sleeping Mask
Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Laneige Water Sleeping Mask

Laneige Water Sleeping Mask

A moisturizing gel sleeping mask meant to give you soft, glowing skin.

  • Formulated without Sulfates SLS and SLES, parabens, formaldehydes and formaldehyde-releasing agents, phthalates, mineral oil, retinylpalmitate, oxybenzone, coal tar, hydroquinone, triclosan and triclocarban
  • Includes zinc, manganese, magnesium, sodium, calcium and potassium

Full size price: $25
Full size amount: 70 ml / 2.7 fl oz

My thoughts: I am heavy-handed and a little of this sleeping mask goes a long way. I feel like only a small dime-size dollop is all I need, which made this small sample last for a few uses. 

You know how there are some products that you can tell almost instantly whether or not it agrees with your skin? Well, this mask made my face feel calm and moisturized. I love it and will probably buy the full size. 

Where to buy  (not an affiliate link)

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Origins Clear Improvement Charcoal Mask

Origins Clear Improvement Active Charcoal Mask

A purifying mask to deep clean and reduce pore size when used 1 to 2 times per week.

  • Clean at Sephora seal
  • Formulated without parabens, phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate, propylene glycol, mineral oil, DEA, petrolatum, paraffin, polyethylene beads, and formaldehyde

Full size price: $26

Full size amount: 2.5 fl oz

My thoughts: I liked this mask just fine. I didn’t notice anything groundbreaking, but such is the case when you are only able to try a skincare product a couple of times. Typically with skincare, you have to use a product for at least a few weeks to see a result. 

I am on the hunt for the perfect skincare routine that is right for me which is why I still like to try out skincare samples. It allows me to learn more about how my skin reacts to certain products and especially their ingredients.

All that to say, I did like this mask and I love incorporating cleaner beauty products into my routine. My skin did not have any reaction to it.

Where to buy (not an affiliate link)

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Water

A 3-in-1 mist that primes, hydrates, and refreshes skin.

  • Cruelty free and vegan

Full size price: $32

Full size amount: 3.9 fl oz / 116 ml

My thoughts: I didn’t notice any difference when I used this as a primer.

Where to buy (not an affiliate link)

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Hum Nutrition Daily Cleanse Clear Skin and Breakout Supplement

Hum Nutrition Daily Cleanse Clear Skin and Breakout Supplement

This is a daily supplement that is supposed to help clear your skin and body from toxins.

  • Non-GMO
  • Sustainably sourced
  • Gluten free

Full size price: $25

Full size amount: 60 capsules (30 day supply)

My thoughts: As with any skincare product, you have to take it over an extended period of time before you notice any difference and this being a supplement is no different. I took this over 3 days and although I didn’t notice any change for the better, I also didn’t notice any adverse reactions. This was just my personal experience, so if taking a supplement is something you’re interested in, I’d suggest you seek the advice of your doctor.

Where to buy (not an affiliate link)

Play by Sephora Review, January 2019, Marajo Nourishing Cleansing Creme & Deep Treatment Butter

Marajo Nourishing Cleansing Creme & Deep Treatment Butter

This is rich, moisturizing hair wash and conditioner that contains a blend of Pracaxi Oil extract.

  • No SLS and SLES

Full size price: $44

My thoughts: I won’t pay $44 for this even though my hair felt nice after using it. Sampling something just once is a great way to see if you like the texture, consistency of a product and to see if you have any reaction to it. The only problem with that is it takes using the product over an extended period of time before you can tell if it’s working. 

I liked it, but I’m not sure if it’s the best shampoo/conditioner out there.

This is supposed to be available at Sephora, but as of this post, it is no where to be found on the site. You can learn more at the Marajo site (not an affiliate link).

Is the Sephora Play subscription worth it?

The Sephora Play subscription is not one of my favorites at this price point, but I do enjoy getting it every month and will continue with this beauty subscription.

If you want to learn more or are interested in signing up, please click here

I’d love to know what you think about this Play by Sephora review, so leave a comment below and let me know! Do you get this beauty subscription too? What are your thoughts on it?

Play by Sephora Review | January 2019 • Try All The Stuff
Play by Sephora Review | January 2019 1
In this post, I'll share my Play by Sephora review for January 2019. I'll also share a detailed description of the items included so you can figure out whe
Editor's Rating:
0

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.