Play by Sephora Review | December 2018

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Sephora Play December 2018 Review

In this post, I’ll share my Play by Sephora review for December 2018. You’ll get a closer look at what type of products are included in this monthly beauty subscription to determine whether or not it’s right for you.

About Play! by Sephora

Description:

Every month, Sephora will send you 5 trial-sized beauty products plus a bonus 6th item.

Price

$10 per month

Value

$65+

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

U.S. Only

Find out more:

Play! by Sephora Unboxing

In the unboxing video above, you’ll see swatches of each individual item. I like to post sneak peaks and quick videos of all the subscriptions I subscribe to, so follow me on Instagram if you like that sorta thing.

What's included in the December 2018 Play! by Sephora bag?

Sephora Play December 2018 Review
Sephora Play December 2018 Review

Each month a plastic zip top bag is included with the subscription. It can be reused, but I’m not entirely sure for what. It is cute though.

Sephora Play December 2018 Review
Sephora Play December 2018 Review

Also included is a large poster-like insert with more details about the included products and a card for 50 bonus Beauty Insider points. 

Let’s get into the Play by Sephora review now. Here’s what was included:

Sephora Play December 2018 - Too Faced Primer Review

Too Faced Cosmetics Primed & Peachy Cooling Matte Skin Perfecting Primer

A matte primer with a cooling effect. This primer is supposed to brighten and smooth complexion.

  • Cruelty free and vegan

Full size price: $34

Full size amount: 40 ml / 1.35 fl oz

Final thoughts: Ok for starters, I didn’t notice any cooling effect. I’ve tried this with at 3 different foundations and each time the foundation slid around my face. When I used it with the Estee Lauder Double Wear foundation, it actually started to peel off. This was the weirdest primer I’ve ever used and I don’t recommend it.

Where to buy

Sephora Play December 2018 Fresh Sugar Lip Balm Review

fresh Sugar Advanced Therapy Dream Sheer Pink Lip Treatment

Tinted moisturizer that is supposed to provide 24-hour hydration.

  • Not tested on animals

Full size price: $26

Full size amount: 4.3 g

Final thoughts: This lip balm reminds me of my hospital stay with my first son. I had another sample of one that I got for my birthday at Sephora. Using this brings up sweet memories.

$26 for a lip balm is a big ask though and I would not pay full price. It didn’t moisturize my lips for any longer than your average lip balm and it felt like it sits on top of my lips, not necessarily penetrated through.

Where to buy

Sephora Play December 2018 - marajo finishing spray Review

MARAJÓ Hair Care 3-N-1 Finishing Spray

Hairspray with Pracaxi oil extract

Full size price: $29

Final thoughts: I won’t pay $29 for this light hairspray even if I did like it. I don’t think it was groundbreaking, but it was nice to use and didn’t make my hair crunchy.

The product on the MARAJÓ site redirects to Sephora where its no longer available. Where to buy

Sephora Play December 2018 - Clinique Pep Start Moisturizer Review

Clinique Pep-Start Hydroblur Moisturizer

A 24-hour mattifying moisturizer that is supposed to have a blurring effect.

  • Formulated without parabens, phthalates, or fragrance

Full size price: $29.50

Full size amount: 50ml

Final thoughts: I like it and didn’t notice any breakouts. However, it’s hard to get a good read on sample size products like this because with skincare, you need to use it for a while to notice any real results. This is something I would pay full price for if I need a new moisturizer.

Where to buy

Sephora Play December 2018 - Trestique Review

trèStique Mini Lip Glaze in Paris Pink

2-in-1 lip primer and glaze. 

  • Cruelty free and never tested on animals
  • No synthetic fragrances, D5, petochemicals, or parabens

Full size price: $25

Final thoughts: I love lip crayons because they’re really easy to apply. This one is very sheer but with a couple of swipes, you’ll see a hint of color. The full size has a built in lip balm which is cool but I don’t think it’s necessary. Not for me at least. I have a handful of lip balms within an arms reach at any given time. I would prefer something not as sheer, like their lip crayon. But I guess the sheerness is to be expected with a name like lip glaze.

Where to buy

Sephora Play December 2018 - tarte Mascara Review

Tarte Cosmetics Lights, Camera, Lashes Mascara

A cult-classic mascara that is supposed to lengthen, curl, volumize and condition and is not supposed to clump or flake.

  • Vegan and cruelty free
  • No parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, and gluten
  • Dermatologist and Opthalmologist tested
  • Safe for contact lens wearers

Full size price: $23

Full size amount: 0.24 oz

Final thoughts: Mascara is one of those items I have a really hard time paying full price for. The drugstore brands kill it when it comes to mascara. That’s not to say that this one is bad; it’s actually quite good. Whether or not it’s for you is just a matter of how much money you want to spend. 

Where to buy

Is this Play! by Sephora bag worth it?

In other similarly priced beauty subscriptions, like ipsy and Allure Beauty Box, you will get a mixture of deluxe size samples and full size products. Sephora doesn’t do that with their subscription. I get that most of the products are higher end, but Allure was able to give full-size high-end products in their subscription. At the very least, I feel like they can include a full-size Sephora Collection product instead of the sample size.

That said, I will use most of the products included and am pleased, but if you are trying to decide which subscription is right for you, I would suggest you go with either ipsy or Allure Beauty Box.

Leave a comment below because I’d love to know what you think about this Play by Sephora review and whether or not you liked what was included in the subscription for December 2018.

3 out of 5 Stars
Play by Sephora Review | December 2018 1
I give the December 2018 Sephora Play subscription 3 out of 5 stars.
Editor's Rating:
3

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.