Lip Monthly Review for December 2018

This post may contain affiliate links. Read the review policy here | Read the disclaimer here.

In this post, I’ll provide you with a Lip Monthly review for December 2018 so you can decide if this monthly beauty subscription is right for you.

Each month you will receive 4-5 lip products such as lipstick, lip gloss, lip balm, or lip crayons and a small, on-theme makeup bag for $12.95. Each bag also comes with a card with more information about the products included.

Lip Monthly Unboxing

I love to share my unboxing and product swatches with you on Instagram, so if you’re into that sorta thing, you should definitely follow me there.

Lip Monthly Review for December 2018

Here’s what was included in December 2018 bag:

Bellapierre Cosmetics Matte Lipstick in Hothead

Full size price: $20

  • Made with sunflower seed oil and jojoba
  • Supposed to be long lasting and won’t dry your lips
  • Minerally based cosmetics company
  • Cruelty-free
  • No toxins or parabens
  • Matte lipstick in a bright pink shade that is supposed to be long-lasting and nourishing

I didn’t think this lipstick was nourishing but that’s probably because it was a matte formula, which I don’t like. Additionally, this is a hot pink shade and I haven’t found a reason to wear it yet so I cannot determine whether it really is long-lasting.

I’m not too thrilled with this product, maybe because of the color and the very dry texture, but I do love when brands make an honest effort in creating products that are healthy and cruelty free. I wouldn’t be opposed to trying any of their other products, it’s just that this one wasn’t for me. 

Where to buy

Jing Ai Velvet Shine Lip Jewel in Pink A Boo

Full size price: $14

  • Made in America
  • No parabens or gluten
  • Cruelty-Free
  • A long lasting pale pink lip crayon that is formulated without any toxic ingredients

This is one of two lip crayons included in the bag this month. The formula was nice but this is a shade that isn’t flattering on my skin tone. I love lip crayons and would probably wear this if it were in a different color.

I love that this is another brand that features products that are cruelty free and excludes toxic chemicals from the formula, but I just don’t use this.

Where to buy

Noyah Classic Lip Balm

Full size price: $3.99

  • Only 4 ingredients: Coconut oil, beeswax, Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Stevia
  • Great for sensitive skin
  • Post a pic with your lip balm and they will donate one to the National Health Care for the Homeless Council (NHCHC)
  • No gluten
  • Cruelty-free and ethically sourced beeswax
  • An organic unscented lip balm with only 4 ingredients

This lip balm only contains 4 ingredients which I think is great; however, the trade-off with that is that it isn’t smooth and leaves a slight white cast when it’s cold outside. On warmer days, this melts easily. I guess that’s the payoff when products are that clean.

Where to buy

Laritzy Cosmetics Lip Stix in Gala

Full size price: $20

  • Cruelty-free and never tested on animals
  • No parabens, BHT, BHA, phthalates

This is the second lip crayon in this month’s bag, but this one is a classic red. The formula was nice, but again, I didn’t like the color. I’ve liked other products by this brand so even though I typically don’t wear red lips, I would love to try this lip stix in another shade.

Where to buy

Is the Lip Monthly subscription worth it?

The total value for this month is supposed to be $57.99 and honestly, I’m bummed that I even paid $12.95. Just because something is greatly discounted, doesn’t mean its a great deal for you.

I think you know where I might be going with this. Of the 3 colored lip products, I didn’t like any of the shade. I think they chose great brands, but the color curation was off.  I understand that color preferences are subjective and vary from person to person, but this is something everyone has to consider when choosing whether or not to stick with a subscription, especially when they don’t allow for any customization or preference considerations.

This bag costs $12.95 per month and I am only going to use 1 of the 4 products this month. Unfortunately, that one product is only $3.99 so this bag was a big thumbs down.

I intended to cancel this subscription, but by the time I got around to doing it, I was already charged for the January 2018 bag. Find out what I thought about the November 2018 and January 2019 bags and to see why I ultimately canceled this subscription.

I’d love to know what you think of this Lip Monthly review for December 2018, so please let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.