Ipsy Review | January 2019

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019

In this January 2019 ipsy review, I’ll share what I liked and didn’t like about each product included as well as the additional items I added on. 

Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that continues to be one of my favorites. I’ve written other reviews in the past and you can read about them here and here.

About Ipsy Glam Bag

Description:

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that includes 5 makeup, skincare or hair care products. Although most of the products are travel-size, you have the benefit of each item tailored towards your preferences.

Price

$10 per month

Value

-

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

Canada, U.S. and U.S. Territories

Learn more:

January 2019 ipsy Unboxing

I love creating these quick unboxing and swatch videos. I post them along with other sneak peaks frequently so be sure to follow me on Instagram.

Ipsy Review: What's included in the subscription?

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019

Ipsy includes a card with every subscription with more details about that month’s theme. Also included is a a cute, on-theme makeup bag as you can see in the image and video above.

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Illamasqua Colouring Pencil Lip Crayon in Lust

Illamasqua Colouring Pencil Lip Crayon in Lust

High pigment lip pencil that can be used to define lips.

  • PETA recognized, not tested on animals and vegan

Full size price: £16

Final thoughts: This is a very pretty lip pencil and great to have in my makeup bag.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Pure Brazilian Leave-In Conditioner

Pure Brazilian Leave-In Conditioner

Keratin infused leave-in conditioner for dry or damaged hair.

  • Sodium Chloride free

Full size price: $26

Full size amount: 6.78 oz

Final thoughts: I love using a leave-in conditioner in my hair after I wash it. This one is great and a good size to travel with.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Seraphine Botanicals Crystal + Chrome - Pigmented Crystalline Particles in Smokey Quartz
ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Seraphine Botanicals Crystal + Chrome - Pigmented Crystalline Particles in Smokey Quartz

Seraphine Botanicals Crystal + Chrome - Pigmented Crystalline Particles in Smokey Quartz

Ultra-fine pigmented crystalline particles.

  • Not tested on animals, cruelty free, and vegan
  • No gluten, parabens, harsh chemicals, dyes, non-food grade fragrances, phthalates, triclosan, petroleum, bismuth oxychloride, nanoparticles, or GMOs
  • Sustainably sourced, plant-based ingredients

Full size price: $18

Full size amount: 2.3 g / 0.08 oz (sold by weight, not volume)

Final thoughts: This color is right up my alley. It reminds me of my favorite BareMinerals color I bought over 10 years ago and is no longer available. 

Loose pigments like this should be used with a primer or glitter adhesive first, but I found that I really don’t have to if I want just sweep of color.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Luxie Beauty 1010 Small Contour Brush

Luxie Beauty 1010 Small Contour Brush

Small brush for contour or highlight featuring a comfortable handle that is also gorgeous.

  • Cruelty-free and vegan

Full size price: This particular brush is not available on the site, but other Luxie brushes in the same Pro line range in price from $34 to $42.

Final thoughts: Brushes are one of my favorite things to get in a subscription. I’ve never heard of Luxie Beauty until I started receiving their brushes in my ipsy Glam Bags.

I love the groove in the handle and the softness of the bristles, I just wish it had a flat on the side and tapered on the top. I’ll still use this brush though.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Kasca Nail Polish in Velvet Black Matte

Kasca Nail Polish in Velvet Black Matte

Black matte nail polish with a wide brush for easy application.

  • 15 free formula: Free from toluene, DBP, Formaldehyde, camphor, formaldehyde resin, parabens, sulfates, phthalates, GMOs, petrochemicals, SLS, triclosan, triphernyl phosphate, ethyl tosylamide, and xylene
  • Not tested on animals

Full size price: $8.53

Final thoughts: To maintain the matte appearance, you don’t need to use a top coat, but if you’d like to add some shine, then go ahead and add it.

I haven’t used this yet since I use gel polish for my fingers. I don’t get pedicures often enough, but will once October comes around.

Where to buy

Ipsy Add-On Products

On the second of each month, Ipsy give you the opportunity to purchase 3 additional items to add to your Glam Bag. Deluxe-size samples are $3 each and full-size products are $12 each.

Here are the add-ons I chose this month:

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Ouai Leave-In Conditioner

Ouai Leave-In Conditioner

Leave-in conditioner to help detangle, hydrate and protect hair.

  • No parabens, phthalates, or sufates
  • Developed and produced in the United States
  • Cruelty-free and does not retail in countries that require animal testing, such as China

Full size price: $26

Full size amount: 4.7 fl oz / 140 ml

Final thoughts: If you know me, you know I love a good leave-in conditioner. This one smells great and leaves my hair feeling soft. I recommend.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, LUE by Jean Seo Clear Spot Control

LUE by Jean Seo Clear Spot Control

Gentle, but powerful, spot treatment for breakouts. Made from a blend of 12 herbs and organic biodynamic alcohol and is supposed to go on clear.

  • High quality ingredients

Full size price: $15

Full size amount: 0.25 fl oz / 7.5 ml

Final thoughts: There is definitely a color to this, but it blends out clear. This has a very strong herbal scent so if you are sensitive to that sorta thing, be cautious.

This is supposed to be step 3 of LUE’s Skin Solution Set but can also be used separately within any skincare routine, which is the way I use it. The bottle I received has a doe foot applicator and will last a long time. I added this to my breakouts in addition to 10% benzoyl peroxide and the blemishes noticeably diminish by the morning.

Where to buy

ipsy Glam Bag Review, January 2019, Hempz Ultra Moisturizing Herbal Lip Balm

Hempz Ultra Moisturizing Herbal Lip Balm

Moisturizing lip balm enriched with 100% pure organic help seed oil

  • No THC (the active chemical in marijuana responsible for the "high")
  • Gluten-free
  • Vegan (no beeswax)

Full size price: $8.99

Full size amount: 0.44 oz

Final thoughts: I am a lip balm addict. I’ve worn lip balm every day for over 25 years. This feels so luxurious and would be gorgeous over a matte lipstick because it has a ton of shine. I love using this and would buy it again.

Where to buy

Is the ipsy subscription worth the price?

OMG yes. This month’s bag was great.

If you are on the fence about getting an ipsy subscription, I’m sure you will love it just as much as I do. I think what makes this subscription worth it, is the ability to create your own beauty profile so they can send you products tailored to your specifications.

I’ve written a few other ipsy reviews you can read. But if you are interested in learning more or signing up, please visit this site.

5 Out of 5 Stars
Ipsy Review | January 2019 1

I'm giving this month's bag 5 out of 5 stars because I will use everything that I got this month.

Editor's Rating:
5

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.