Ipsy Review | December 2018

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018

In this December 2018 ipsy review, I will share my thoughts on all the products that were selected for me based on my custom beauty profile. I’ll also share my thoughts on the add-on items I selected for an additional $3 each item.

There are two types of ipsy subscriptions: 

  1. The OG $10 per month Glam Bag featuring 5 deluxe- or full-size products plus a cute, on-theme makeup bag
  2. The $25 per month Glam Bag Plus featuring 5 full-size beauty products

I’ve written a few other reviews here and here but in this post, I’ll review of the OG ipsy Glam Bag.

About Ipsy Glam Bag

Description:

ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription that includes 5 makeup, skincare or hair care products. Although most of the products are travel-size, you have the benefit of each item tailored towards your preferences.

Price

$10 per month

Value

-

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

Canada, U.S. and U.S. Territories

Learn more:

Ipsy Glam Bag Unboxing with Swatches

I love creating this quick unboxing videos to share with you on Instagram. You should follow me on Instagram because I often share sneak peaks and unboxings there first.

What's included in the ipsy Glam Bag?

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018
Each month ipsy includes a cute, themed makeup bag. The bag selected this month is probably my favorite so far. It’s a sparkly, gold sequence bag with faux black leather on the back. I have a million little bags, but this one is always at the top of my rotation.
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018

Also included is a card with more details about the month’s theme. The theme for December 2018 is: “Be merry. Be bright. Be bold. Be you.” So cute.

Here’s my ipsy review and what was included this month:

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Cake Heavy Cream
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Cake Heavy Cream

Cake Beauty Heavy Cream Intensive Body Balm

A body butter made with aloe vera, coconut oil, shea butter and green tea extract.

  • No parabens, phthalates, or GMOs
  • Cruelty free and vegan

Full size price: $8.99

Full size amount: 150 ml / 5 fl oz

Final thoughts: An affordable price for a thick, nourishing body butter. The scent is very strong and smells like vanilla cake so I use it on my hands instead of all over my body since I wear perfume.

Another thing to note is the hole where the product comes out tends to get clogged with dry bits.

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 The Balm Nude Beach Eyeshadow
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 The Balm Nude Beach Eyeshadow

TheBalm Cosmetics Nude Beach Eyeshadow in Bootylicious

A bronzy eyeshadow with triple-milled pigments.

  • No parabens
  • Cruelty free

Full size price: $36

Full size amount: 12-shade palette

Final thoughts: Yes girl, this is my type of color. TheBalm doesn’t sell the individual pan of this shadow, you have to buy the whole palette.

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish Zero Carbs Review

Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish in Zero Carbs

Pretty greyish/purplish, nontoxic nail polish.

  • Vegan and cruelty-free
  • Free of parabens and GMOs
  • Non-toxic

Full size price: $15

Full size amount: 15 ml

Final thoughts: At first I wasn’t sure what to think of Trust Fund Beauty. After reading the about page, I quickly realized I really liked the idea behind this brand along with it’s cheeky attitude. 

I used this nail polish on my toes and I had no problem with it chipping the first couple of weeks. I gotta admit, I went about 2 months before my next pedicure. 

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Lip Brulee in Rhubarb

The Beauty Crop Lip Brulee in Rhubarb Custard

High-shine liquid lipstick that is supposed to be long-lasting, intensely pigmented and moisturizing.

  • PETA certified cruelty-free and vegan

Full size price: $12.95

Final thoughts: This is a very pretty shade and the formula is great for a bold lip look.

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Benefit Gimme Brow+ Review

Benefit Cosmetics Gimme Brow+ in 5 Cool Black-Brown

Volumizing brow gel meant to volumize, tame and tint eyebrows.

  • Many colors to choose from and part of a larger suite of eyebrow products.

Full size price: $24

Full size amount: 3.0 g / 0.1 oz

Final thoughts: I gotta admit, I always thought these sorts of brow gels were unnecessary, that is until I tried it. I am a brow gel convert. 

I was sent the color 05 – Deep Cool Black Brown. I think if I were to buy the full size, I’d get the color 4.5 – Medium Neutral Deep Brown.

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Farah Blending Brush
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Farah Blending Brush

F.A.R.A.H Brushes Tapered Blending Brush 35E

Tapered blending brush perfect for cream or powder shadows.

Full size price: $10

Final thoughts: First of all I use this brush a lot, mainly to apply a nude transition color all over my lid. I’ll also use it after I’ve blended out my crease color for additional blending magic between that and my transition shade.

That said, this brush does feel flimsy and I have a feeling it wont last long. The bristles are fine, the handle feels cheap and like it can break easily. I wouldn’t put it in a makeup bag because it will just snap in two.

At the time of this post, the F.A.R.A.H website was deemed not safe by my Chrome browser, so I wasn’t able to get more information on the website, nor am I going to link it here. I hope they fix the problem soon, but if you would like to learn more about this specific brush or the F.A.R.A.H brand, I would suggest hitting up Google.

Add-On Items

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Ouai Scrub Review
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Ouai Scrub Review

Ouai Scalp & Body Scrub

Deep-cleansing, foaming scrub for scalp and body.

  • Developed and produced in the United States
  • No parabens, phthalates, or sulfates
  • Cruelty-free and no animal testing

Full size price: $38

Full size amount: 8.8 oz / 250 g

Final thoughts: This smells amazing and was a lovely exfoliator on my skin. It did foam up a little, which I am not used to in this type of product, but I guess that’s ’cause it is also for the hair. I tried using it on my scalp and I had to use quite a bit because it didn’t spread well. 

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Coco & Eve Deep conditioner review
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Coco & Eve Deep conditioner review

Coco & Eve Like A Virgin Super Nourishing Coconut & Fig Hair Masque

5-in-1 treatment hair mask to restore dry and damaged hair, improve texture and shine, hydrate and deep condition, as well as treat split ends and tame frizz all in 10 minutes.

  • PETA approved, vegan and not tested on animals
  • No gluten, sulfate, phthalates and paraben free
  • Produced in the USA
  • Color safe
  • Free worldwide delivery
  • 100% money back guarantee
  • Free tangle tamer brush included with purchase

Full size price: $44.90

Full size amount: 212 ml / 7.2 oz

Final thoughts: This smells amazing and made my hair feel soft. I loved it and would buy the full-size. 

Where to buy

Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Grace and stella Face mask review
Ipsy Glam Bag Review from December 2018 Grace and stella Face mask review

Grace & Stella Dead Sea Mud Mask

An all-natural mask made with mineral-rich Dead Sea mud. It is supposed to be great for detoxifying impurities

  • Not tested on animals

Full size price: $18.95

Full size amount: 200 g / 7 oz

Final thoughts: I liked using this mask. My skin felt very clean after using it.

Where to buy

Is the ipsy Glam Bag worth the money?

Yeaaaaah! I can’t quit ipsy. I get so excited when the second of the month rolls around and I’m able to see what will be included in that month’s bag and to select the add-on items I want. Opening the bright-pink package every month gives me all of the girly feels that I love. Let me know what you think of this month’s ipsy Glam Bag in the comments below.

If you would like to learn more or sign up or ipsy, please click here.

5 out of 5 stars
Ipsy Review | December 2018 1

Ipsy really nailed my December 2018 Glam Bag and that's why I'm giving it 5 out of 5 stars.

Editor's Rating:
5

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.