Boxy Charm Review | January 2019

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Boxy Charm Review, January 2019
In this post I share my Boxy Charm review on the January 2019 box. Boxy Charm is one of my favorite beauty subscriptions so I’ll break down all of the items in this month’s box.

About Boxy Charm

Description:

You will receive an assortment of 4 to 5 full-size makeup and beauty products.

Price

$21 per month

Value

$100 minimum

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico

Learn more:

Current discounts & Coupon Codes:

  • Sarah-QYKBRRTN

Boxy Charm Unboxing Video

This video shows you a closer look at all of the colors as well as swatches to see the texture of each item.

What's included in the Boxy Charm subscription?

Each month you will receive an assortment of 4-5 full-size beauty products ranging from skincare to makeup. Each box is supposed to be valued at a minimum of $100 so I’ll tally up the final value below.

Boxy Charm Review, January 2019
Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

You are given an insert with more details about each product as well as it’s full retail price. Here’s what was included in the January 2019 box:

Briogeo Rosarco Milk Leave in Conditioner, Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Briogeo Roscaro Milk Reparative Leave-In Conditioning Spray

A light-weight leave-in conditioner spray with rosehip, argan, and coconut oils. This is perfect for dry, damaged or brittle hair and can be applied on wet or dry hair. Safe for treated hair.

  • 96% naturally derived
  • Formulated without harsh sulfates, silicones, phthalates, parabens, DEA, gluten, or artificial dyes
  • Cruelty free and vegan
  • Formulated and manufactured in the United States
  • pH balanced

Price: $12

Full size amount: 2 fl oz

The verdict: Something to note is that this was a deluxe size item, not full-size. So to calculate the final total, I’ll value this at $12 because that’s what the product description card said.

That said, I love this and use it after almost every wash. It leaves my hair feeling smooth and conditioned. Extra points for the high ethical standards of this brand.

Where to buy

Ofra Liquid Lip in Miami Fever, Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Ofra Long Lasting Liquid Lipstick in Miami Fever

A long-lasting burnt terracotta orange liquid lipstick. This shade was made in collaboration with Kathleen Lights.

  • Infused with antioxidants and Vitamin A
  • Cruelty free

Price: $20

The verdict: While I love Ofra Cosmetics, this color just didn’t do it for me. I may use it once in a blue moon, but I would have rather received a different color.

Where to buy

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Eyeshadow Palette Volume 1, Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea Eyeshadow Palette Vol. 1

I was most excited to receive this neutral eyeshadow palette. This palette is limited edition and includes 8 shades.

  • Vegan
  • Dermatologist tested
  • No parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, triclosan, sodium lauryl sulfate, or gluten
  • A proprietary blend of algae and marine flower extracts to reduce fine lines
  • Made in Italy

Price: $36

Amount: 8 eyeshadows that are 1.5 g / .05 fl. oz. each

The verdict: As I mentioned above, I was most excited to receive this product in this month’s Boxy Charm. I love the neutral colors because they can be worn on a casual day.

Where to buy

Tatcha Sheet Masks Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Tatcha Luminous Dewy Skin Face Mask for Normal to Dry Skin, 2 Pack

A creamy sheet mask that hydrates skin and leaves it with a luminous glow.

  • Great for various skin types
  • Non-comedogenic, Non-irritating, Non-sensitizing
  • Dermatologist tested
  • Cruelty free
  • Formulated without mineral oil, synthetic fragrances, sulfate detergents, parabens, urea, DEA, TEA or phthalates

Price: $24

Amount: 20 ml / 0.68 fl oz

The verdict: This sheet mask is another example as to why I love subscription boxes, and Boxy Charm in particular. The team over at Boxy Charm curates a box with great, high-quality items. 

This sheet mask did exactly what it was supposed to do: left me feeling hydrated and with a nice glow. These masks do have a hefty price tag so I would only use it at special times.

Where to buy

Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil, Boxy Charm Review, January 2019
Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil, Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Billion Dollar Brows Universal Brow Pencil

This twist-up brow pencil features a soft, universal brown shade that works with most skin tones and hair colors. It also features a spoolie on the other end. 

  • Spoolie on one end

Price: $18

The verdict: With only one shade available, this product won’t be for everybody. I’m not sure why they chose to only sell one color because it excludes those who might prefer something a little lighter or darker.

Additionally, unless you’re going to completely fill in your brow, this pencil is too thick and soft.

There are better products out there so I suggest you look elsewhere.

Where to buy

Boxy Charm Review, January 2019

Is the Boxy Charm subscription worth it?

Total Value: $110

Boxy Charm says that they will send 4-5 full-size items every month. I bring this up because the Briogeo should be considered a deluxe-sized item because it is only 2 fl oz and the full-size is 5 fl oz. The following month, I received this in my ipsy Glam Bag Plus and it full-size, so I don’t know why it wasn’t included with this month’s Boxy Charm.

I do think that this box is totally worth the $21 price tag because of the value, even with a deluxe-size item. I use and like everything in this box, with the exception of the eyebrow pencil and the orange Ofra liquid lipstick. I suppose I would still use it, but if I were sent a more neutral or nude shade I would have been happy with everything.

January 2019 Boxy Charm Rating
Boxy Charm Review | January 2019 1

In my opinion, this box deserves a solid 4. Simply because I didn't like the shade of the Ofra liquid lipstick and I wasn't a fan of the size or texture of the Billion Dollar Brows eyebrow pencil.

Editor's Rating:
4

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.