Boxy Charm Review | February 2019

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019

In this post, I’ll give you an honest Boxy Charm review for the month of February 2019. I paid for this box myself and was not compensated to give this review.

Boxy Charm offers 2 subscriptions: The regular monthly box for $21 per month and also BoxyLuxe, which only comes every quarter and is an additional $28.99 on that particular month.

I’ve also done other Boxy Charm reviews, so you can read them here and here. This post is on the Boxy Charm box for February 2019.

About Boxy Charm

Description:

You will receive an assortment of 4 to 5 full-size makeup and beauty products.

Price

$21 per month

Value

$100 minimum

Frequency

Monthly

Ships To

U.S., Canada and Puerto Rico

Learn more:

Current discounts & Coupon Codes:

  • Sarah-QYKBRRTN

February 2019 Boxy Charm Unboxing

In the video above, I show you the textures and swatches of the items. I like posting mini unboxing videos on Instagram, so if you’re into that sorta thing, go ahead and follow me there.

Boxy Charm Review of Items Included

Part of figuring out whether a subscription box is right for you, is knowing whether or not you like the typical items included, but most importantly their quality. I think Boxy Charm does a great job with this because each box contains a variety of full-size makeup products and usually includes 1 skincare item. The items tend to be higher-end brands that you’d typically have a Sephora price-point.

This is what was included in my February 2019 Boxy Charm:

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara

Mascara meant to thicken, lengthen and curl with just one coat. It has a film-forming polymer that helps to lock the curl into place.

  • No gluten or parabens
  • Cruelty free and vegan

Price: $24

Amount of product: 0.27 oz / 8 mL

Final thoughts: This mascara is a cult-classic. The tube has a nice hefty weight to give it a more luxurious feel. I liked it even though I was expecting the formula to be a little thicker like the L’Oreal Lash Paradise. The web site says you can achieve dramatic lashes with just one-stroke, and I didn’t find that to be the case. I needed 2-3 strokes before I was happy with the results.

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter
Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter
Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter
Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter

Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter

A highly-pigmented highlighter that is photochromatic to provide shimmer from any angle.

  • Cruelty-free
  • Free of oil, fragrance, gluten, parabens, and sulfates

Price: $32

Amount of product: 6 g / 0.2 oz

Final thoughts: This is probably the item in the box I was most excited about so I’m sure you know how upset I was when it came broken. I emailed their customer service and attached an image as evidence and they replied saying that they were working with Pretty Vulgar about this and will email me at a later time with an update. This initial email didn’t say specifically whether or not they would replace it so I just had to wait.

Eventually, I got an email saying that a replacement will be included in my March Boxy Charm package.

 I did swatch this and used a little anyway and this is a very pretty golden pink, the color that I like for my skin tone. The color is very pretty.

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Touch in Sol No Poreblem Primer

Touch In Sol No Poreblem Primer

Lightweight, pore-filling primer with green tea extract.

  • K-beauty
  • No parabens, sulfates, or phthalates
  • Hypoallergenic
  • Cruelty-free and vegan

Price: $18

Amount of product: 

Final thoughts: I was just kinda meh about this primer, but it ended up being the item from the box that I use most often. I like it a lot

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Sol De Janeiro Coco Cabana Oil to Cream

Sol De Janeiro Coco Cabana Oil to Cream

A moisturizing cream that Sol de Janeiro claims to provide you with 72 hours of moisture.

  • List Item #1

Price: $35

Amount of product: 5 fl oz / 150 mL

Final thoughts: Have you ever went to drink or smell something and then realize it was something completely different from what you were expecting? Well that’s what happened to me when I took a whiff of this body cream. It has the aroma of movie theater buttered popcorn.

This scent was a jolt to my soul but I had to try it anyway. Sometimes scents change with body chemistry, so I applied it to my hands and arms, but it still smelled like artificial buttered popcorn to me.

I posted about it on Instagram and some other people agreed so I know this wasn’t just in my head. Sol de Janiero was very gracious and replied that the notes I associated with everyone’s favorite movie snack is actually buttered praline and caramel. So if you’re into that sorta thing, you’ll like this body cream. As for me, it’s a hard pass.

Boxy Charm Review, February 2019, Nudestix Magnetic Luminous Eye Color in Copper

Nudestix Magnetic Luminous Eye Color in Copper

A long-wearing eyeshadow pencil that can also be used on cheekbones, tear duct or brow arch.

  • Vegan ingredients and not tested on animals
  • Environmentally friendly

Price: $26

Amount of product: 0.1 oz 2.8 g

Final thoughts: This eyeshadow stick glides on smoothly and is really pretty. I don’t wear copper tones very often, but I will reach for this whenever the mood strikes. I’d like to try their other colors.

Is Boxy Charm worth the money?

Boxy Charm costs $21 per month and they claim that each subscription box will contain a minimum value of at least $100. Here’s a price breakdown of everything that was included to see if it’s true or not.

$26 ⇒ Nudestix eyeshadow stick
$35 ⇒ Sol de Janeiro Moisturizer
$18 ⇒ Touch In Sol Primer
$32 ⇒ Pretty Vulgar Highlighter
$24 ⇒ Too Faced Mascara

Total retail price $135

All-in-all, if you will use at least one of the items (except for the primer), you will have gotten your money’s worth. If you will use at least 2 items, then it is definitely worth subscribing to.

Boxy Charm Review

Of all the items in this month’s Boxy Charm subscription, I hated the scent of the Coco Cabana body cream. It was moisturizing, so if you like that sort of scent, you will probably like the moisturizer. As for me, I just wont ever use it.

Aside from that, the broken Pretty Vulgar highlighter was a real bummer because I liked that shade a lot. It’s getting replaced so I am happy about that and I’m happy about the other items included even if I don’t use them everyday.

If you are interested in learning more or signing up, please visit this link and use the coupon code Sarah-QYKBRRTN.

3 out of 5 stars
Boxy Charm Review | February 2019 1
I give this box 3 stars because there is only one item I will use daily, the primer. I don't like the scent of the moisturizer, my highlighter came broken and I have to wait a month for a replacement, and the other two items, I will only use occasionally.
Editor's Rating:
3

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.