Allure Beauty Box Review | January 2019

This post may contain affiliate links.
All reviews are my own honest option.
I do not accept any form of payment to leave a false or misleading review.

Read the review policy here. | Read the site disclosure here.

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 -

In this post, I’ll share my Allure Beauty Box review for January 2019. Allure Beauty Box is a monthly subscription curated by the editors at Allure Magazine. Each month, the subscription includes an assortment of makeup, hair and skin products.

I pay for this subscription with my own money. Read about the Try all the stuff review policy here.

About the Allure Beauty Box

You will receive an assortment of deluxe- and full-size makeup and beauty products.

Price

$15 per month

Value

Over $50

frequency

Monthly

ships to

U.S. only

Learn more:

January 2019 Allure Beauty Box Unboxing

I love sharing quick videos on Instagram of the swatches and to give you a closer look at the texture of the items. If you haven’t already, be sure to follow me on Instagram where I share first looks at the subscription boxes I review.

What is included in the Allure Beauty Box?

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 -

Each month you’ll get a small pamphlet with more details on the products included.

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 -
Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 -

There are different versions of the Allure Beauty Box each month where some boxes will include certain items and not others. This pamphlet gives you information about all of the products, even those not included with your version of that month’s subscription.

Let's get on with the January 2019 Allure Beauty Box review

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Sunday Riley A+ High Dose Retinoid Serum

Sunday Riley A+ High-Dose Retinoid Serum

Full size price: $85 USD
Full size amount: 1 oz / 30 ml

This serum contains a 6.5% solution of retinoid blends that is supposed to “fights the signs of aging and improves the look of congested and UV damaged skin.”

It can take your skin a while to get used to retinol products, so each one that I’ve encountered have said to introduce it to your skincare routine gradually by using it every other day. I’ve said it a million times and I’ll say it again, it’s hard to get a real read on how a skin care product will perform with just a sample size that will last a week at best. I think trying skin care samples is best to find out if your skin has a negative reaction to it. Mine didn’t with this.

I have a prescription for retinol so I don’t have an immediate need for this product, but if didn’t have that prescription, I would buy the full size and use this regularly.

  • Cruelty free and vegetarian
  • No sulfates, parabens, gluten, soy, phthalates, or fragrance

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Mally Eyeshadow Stick in Burnished Bronze
Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Mally Eyeshadow Stick in Burnished Bronze

Mally Eyeshadow Stick Extra in Burnished Bronze

Price: $25 USD

This was another full size item in this month’s box which is always exciting. This is a great eyeshadow stick for quick makeup application. It applied pigmented and blended well. 

It has tiny flecks of silver. I don’t like how silver looks on my skin tone, so I seldom wear any makeup with it. I do like the formula however and would buy this in another color.

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Sunday Riley CEO Glow Face Oil
Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Sunday Riley CEO Glow Face Oil

Sunday Riley CEO Glow Face Oil

Price: $40 USD
Amount: 0.5 fl oz / 15 ml

This is a face oil with Vitamin C and Turmeric that is supposed to give you a radiant glow.

All subscribers got a full size bottle of this face oil, which is awesome. This is the first time I’ve ever had a face oil so I only used it a handful of times because I’m afraid it will clog my pores.

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - Doucce Relentless Matte Lip Crayon in Winterberry

Doucce Relentless Matte Lip Crayon in Winterberry

Price: $22 USD

This is a long-lasting matte lip crayon. I love lip crayons. Matte lip products, not so much.

This Winterberry Doucce lip crayon made its rounds this month and was also included in the Lip Monthly subscription. I know that these are two separate subscriptions, but why wouldn’t Doucce suggest a different color? 

I don’t wear reds often. So for someone like me who has multiple subscriptions, this kinda sucks. I would think Doucce would want to get a larger product or shade range out into as many hands as possible.

This is a sample size inside of a full size applicator. The applicator is plastic and I cannot figure out how to “sharpen” it which leads me to believe that the tip of lip color is all you get, there is nothing inside of the tube.

That aside, I do like the formula but would have liked to try a different color. 

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Ouai Scalp and Body Scrub
Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Ouai Scalp and Body Scrub

Ouai Scalp and Body Scrub

Full size price: $38 USD
Full size amount: 8.8 oz / 250 g

This is another product that made its rounds amongst the subscriptions. I’ve reviewed it here, on my December 2018 Ipsy Glam Bag review.

This smells amazing and was a lovely exfoliator on my skin. It did foam up a little, which I am not used to in this type of product, but I guess that’s ’cause it is also for the hair. I tried using it on my scalp and I had to use quite a bit because it didn’t spread well. 

I will add that after using it on my scalp was awkward. I will stick to using it on my skin.

  • Developed and produced in the United States
  • No parabens, phthalates, or sulfates
  • Cruelty-free and no animal testing

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - Amika Soulfood Nourishing Hair Mask

Amika Soulfood Nourishing Hair Mask

Full size price: $28 USD
Full size amount: 250 ml / 8 fl oz

A great-smelling deep conditioner. I used this a couple of times and really liked it. Has Jojoba seed oil and Vitamin C to nourish hair.

  • Safe for color-treated, brazilian-treated and keratin-treated hair
  • Cruelty free and vegan
  • Free from gluten and sulfates

Where to buy

Allure Beauty Box Review - January 2019 - ncLA Nail Polish

NCLA Nail Polish

Price:  $16 USD
Amount: 13.3 ml / 0.5 fl oz

I think this is a gorgeous color even though reds aren’t my go-to. It has a really pretty hint of coral.

  • Made in the United States
  • Cruelty-free and vegan
  • 7-Free formula

Where to buy

Is the Allure Beauty Box worth it?

Yes. I think they should work on getting exclusive products or somehow ensure that the products that they do include aren’t going to also be included in other subscriptions within a few months from each other. I don’t mind duplicate products that much, but I think it would be a better experience from a consumer’s point-of-view to have a bit more variety. I feel that getting two of the same lip crayons in separate subscriptions isn’t much of a big deal as long as the colors are different.

As the month’s go on, I will become more and more critical as to whether I want to continue with a subscription if I keep seeing duplicated products like the two I recieved this month. And honestly, that’s the only complaint I have with this month’s box. I do think that Allure Beauty Box really hit it out of the park with the two Sunday Riley products this month and that was its saving grace from being a total flop.

I’ve written a few other Allure Beauty Box reviews and you can read them here and here.

If you want to learn more or are interested in signing up, please visit this link.

I’d love to know more about what you think of the January 2019 Allure Beauty Box review. Leave me a comment below and let me know how you feel about getting duplicate products.

4 out of 5
Allure Beauty Box Review | January 2019 1
I give this month's Allure Beauty Box 4 out of 5 stars
Editor's Rating:
4

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on pinterest
Pinterest
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on email
Email

Subscribe To Try All The Stuff

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.